Pura Vida

COSTA RICA TIP #1 – For heaven’s sake, remember your Yellow Fever Card!

While home over the winter holidays, I woke up one morning at 6am with a start – “I don’t have my Yellow Fever Card, it’s in my Cartagena apartment.”  CRAP.  I have no idea why I thought of it so randomly.  I grabbed my computer and Google told me that you only need it if you’re entering from a yellow fever risk country.  Luckily Canada isn’t one of them, but I live in Colombia which was on the dreaded list.  Would they even know?  I was getting a fresh new passport that wouldn’t have my Colombian visa or stamps (or Southern Africa stamps for that matter too).  I was flying to Cartagena from San Jose afterward, but who’s to say that wasn’t my first time entering Colombia?  Would it be on the customs form?  What would happen if they found out my Colombia connection?  Would I be quarantined?  Denied entry to the country?  Arrested?  I didn’t know what to think and with under a week before my departure, I had no idea what to do.  The travel clinic was closed for holidays (surprise, surprise – I don’t know how doctors aren’t ragged on as much for vacation time like teachers), so there went the idea of having them rewrite me a card (they’d have it on file, right?).  CAA Travel told me not to worry, and asking about five friends that I knew had been to Costa Rica before made me calm down a bit because some didn’t even know what it was.

As it always turns out, I didn’t have to do anything.  The border guard said a grand total of two words to me (“Hola” as I walked up and “Gracias” as I left), and the first hurdle, which I thought was the biggest, was overcome!  The next one was finding the mysterious bus that would take me from San Jose to Parrita where Sheryl lives.  Arriving with 30 minutes to spare, I found the bus and took that time to remember how to breathe and relax.  Turns out I didn’t have to rush because we waited probably an hour past when we were supposed to leave, waiting for late people who had been on the bus reservation.  Central America and South America officially had similar outlooks on timing and the lack of set schedules.  I finally made it to Parrita, met up with Sheryl, and had the whole pool house to myself to avoid the dog and two cats in the house.

1492240_1179950795364147_2621234165428871557_o

That’s Sheryl’s main house taken from the pool house.

Over that week, it was a wonderful combination of crazy extreme sports and doing nothing at the beach.  My Fitbit definitely reflected that, sometimes getting my 10,000 step goal easily, while other days I struggled to get halfway.

The first adventure was rafting (no photo evidence because of the water).

Then there was ATVing!  Sheryl said I was a bad driver, but the rain made it more slippery for the person in the back, making it seem like they were going to fall off!  And going through the river parts would make us swerve and it was tough to keep it straight!

IMG_3304IMG_3300

Some of the scenery and us on the ATV.  You can see the rain drops!

Sheryl had injured her leg before I got there, so the ATVs the day before were a little much, so she sent me off to do ziplining alone.  But it was still an amazing time, flying through the trees and seeing monkeys and poison dart frogs.  The other people in the group were all in couples, so I took my pre-tour picture with the guides!

Tour de 9 AM 007.JPG

Tour de 9 AM 045Tour de 9 AM 074Tour de 9 AM 076

Good advertising right there.

Then there were the beaches!  About 30 minutes away in Manuel Antonio, there was a beach just outside the National Park where Sheryl knew a bunch of people who either worked at the beach with the chairs and umbrellas or in the restaurants.  She knows everyone!  We did meet some new people, including my new friend Diego who is from Cuba.  He is temporarily living in Costa Rica with a big group of Cubans that are on a huge journey to the United States.  They actually started in Bogota and worked their way through Panama to Costa Rica.  They are waiting for their visas and immigration papers to come through before finally getting placed in the States by the government.  It sounded like it had been a tough journey, but very exciting too!  Him and another guy from the tour company he is working for recruited Sheryl and I to go do the ATVs, and then another day on the beach he helped convince me to do parasailing behind the boat!  We also hung out a couple other days too before I left.  I’m hoping he gets to the US soon and is able to start his new life there!

FullSizeRender (3)

Diego slackin’ while on the job, but then he took sweet pictures of me parasailing.

IMG_3472

IMG_3474

IMG_3330.JPG

Sheryl actually lives across the street from another beach that was pretty empty all the time, not touristy at all!  So there were always beautiful sunsets and great pictures to take of them!

IMG_3307.JPG

Another interesting part of the trip was that the house was lacking in water for most of my time there.  The lady who takes the responsibilities of the landlord because he lives in the States was not exactly very efficient at getting things done, so we were bathing in the pool and dumping buckets of water in the toilets to flush them manually.  Kind of a gross experience, but it could’ve been a lot worse.  We were being pretty good sports about it, Sheryl apologized a million times, but I knew she was doing everything she could to get the lady to get up and do something about it!

IMG_3475

Overall, Costa Rica was a great trip and a super way to check off my 10th country!  Vacation ended way too soon as always, but hopefully the next one comes fast!  But probably not as fast as my family doctor’s next one.

IMG_3315.JPG

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment